Salaams and Hello!! Welcome to WoodTurtle, your one stop shop for all things Muslim, Feminist and relating to Motherhood.

Grab a cardamon laced Arabic coffee and a raspberry-white chocolate scone (my favs) and hang out for a while!

  • When did you start blogging and why?

I actually started blogging on Livejournal back in 2002 (I started this one officially in May).  It was the easiest way for me to keep in contact with my friends and family as I studied Religious Studies and Philosophy in Kingston, and Islamic Law and History in Montreal.  Somewhere along the way, I met my Hubby and my blog was key in staying in contact with him during our courtship while he worked in Kuwait, Jamaica and Niagara Falls.  We eventually met “halfway” and settled near Toronto.

I’ve since been involved in a couple of blogs, on and off, such as Finding Sakina, which was intended to help me get back to writing once I escaped Academia and entered the working world as a civil servant (well.. I try to be civil anyway).  These blogs have been left by the wayside due to laziness on my part and balancing pregnancy and work.

Once I had Eryn though, I realized that this perfect little girl will need my help negotiating religious, political, gendered spaces and patriarchal realities, and that how I interact with the world and others  will have a huge impact on how she sees herself.  This blog isn’t for her.  It’s definitely for me — to help hash out issues like hijab, sex segregation, and female/male roles to name a few, so that I’m prepared for the day she starts talking and asks questions like, “why does uncle refer to God as ‘He’?” or “why do we have to sit behind the men at the mosque.” Well… that’s the plan anyway.

That, and I really do miss writing, and writing my blog is a lovely and fun way to spend maternity leave.

  • What is one thing you are going to do this week that is WAY cooler than going to BlogHer?

Make and freeze 150 meat samosas for Ramadan; go visit a farm; run through a spashpad; and finally write about sacred pollution and Eryn’s hijab. OKiknow that’s more than one thing. I guess this means I’m way, way, way cooler 😉

  • Share a post that you think says a lot about you or is your favorite.

My favourite post talks about me getting over breastfeeding in public while wearing hijab: Breastfeeding from behind the curtain

(and these two posts say a lot about me: Hijab 5.0 and When did I stop being white?)

Thanks for popping by — can’t wait to see all the other posts.

*If you’re confused about this intro post, check out the NoGoBlogHer button on the right and join the blog party!! All thanks to the fantastic and brilliant hostesses with the mostesses: MarfMom and To.Be.Thode.

