When Eryn was born we were a few days away from celebrating the start of Ramadan. In-between plugged ducts, sleepless days and nights, surviving the witching hour (that lasted 3 months!), and recovery, I remember feeling that the month just flew by without the joys and sweetness of Ramadan actually registering in my mind.

I find fasting a very humbling and spiritual experience. My mind is sharper and I’m more in tune with my emotions and thoughts. I always feel so much closer to God when I fast — and when I converted Ramadan was right around the corner. I don’t think I would have joined the faith so completely if it hadn’t been for all of the nights at the mosque and experiencing such a wonderful reception from my community. I love Ramadan so much that even Eryn’s real life name is inspired by a key symbol from this holy month. Ramadan has always been important to me.

And that makes not fasting even more difficult.

You’ll find some of my thoughts on this over at iVilliage, where I share tips and reflections for pregnant and nursing fasters.

